The Art of Wrestling Vol. 1

As I write this, day has barely even started to break.  It is Monday though (my humble apologies for the reminder).  While RAW is usually terrible these days, this is still the day for pro wrestling.  So it seems like the right time to unleash my first ongoing series on the unsuspecting masses.  Being a big fan of pro graps sort of inherently means wrestlers are a pretty regular staple of my portrait drawing, so from time-to-time, I will show off a bit of my work.

The champ is here!

The champ is here!

I can think of no better subject for my first subject in this ongoing series than the current NXT Women’s Champion, Bayley!  It probably wasn’t drawn up (hehe) that way, but Bayley and Sasha Banks ended up with these amazingly deep, diametrically opposed character arcs that played off each other beautifully and lead to a final, epic showdown that was something like two years in the making.  Between the heightened emotional state and the fantastic battle that ensued, their title match at Takeover: Brooklyn was unquestionably my favorite match of the entire year, and I know I’m not alone in thinking that.  Their rematch also has to be ranked amongst the very best matches ever fought under the Iron Man (most falls in a specific time limit wins) stipulation.  I’m sure this won’t be the last time I draw Bayley, and it’ll be an honor every single time.

That’s all for this post.  Thanks for stopping by!

Until our next…

Leave a Reply

