Breakdown Trade

#dreamboat..

#dreamboat..

I suppose it’s somehow appropriate that amongst my first posts of note after my unceremonious return to WordPress would be a small trade with Gavin of Breakdown Cards, considering how prone to mental/emotional breakdowns I am.  Even the brief move to Tumblr was arguably the result of one.  He’s also had a noteworthy influence on the way I collect in recent times (adding a soft cap of 100 cards for full collections, and finally deciding to officially add another collection I’ll talk about whenever I get around to it).  But anyway, he sent some cool stuff.  So have a looksie, won’t you? 😉

Shitweasel of the Year award winner..

Shitweasel of the Year award winner..

First up, the whole reason for this trade in the first place.  It’s a rookie card of borderline Hall of Famer and notable transphobic douchecanoe, Lance Berkman.  I was never the biggest Fat Puma fan in the first place, but yeah, to hell with him.  Curse my desire for as many RCs of star players as I can get my saucy little mitts on.  I would like to be rid of every other card of this asswipe I own by the end of the year though.  I don’t think I can even justify his inclusion in my blingy insert-laden 1-Star Binder right now, even though he was a more than good enough player to qualify.  Take a hike, buddy.

Fortunately, it’s all uphill from here.

A pretty good closer..

Damn good closer..

This Hector Rondon might have been the first 2015 Allen & Ginter card in my collection.  Don’t think I ever bought any myself, and I wasn’t around to make any trades in the middle of the year.  So yeah, until that Shot Not Taken trade showed up a little while later with some Ginter Goodies™, I think this was it.  Now I need more.  2014 too.  Pretty much every other year too.  Non-baseball inserts especially.  GIVE THEM TO ME NOW.

Tinker..

Tinker..

Chance..

Chance..

Next up, 2/3 of a legendary trio from way before my (and even ancient card blog mariners like Night Owl and Baseball Dad) time.  Just missing the keystone.

This might be a parallel. I don't know how this era of Bowman worked..

This might be a parallel. I don’t know how this era of Bowman worked..

Heading down the stretch with a guy that failed at two sports, which is still two more sports than I’ll ever be good enough at to have the chance to fail at on a professional level.  If skee ball or being bad at sleeping were professional sports though, I might be onto something. 😛

And finally, the unexpected crown jewel of this trade…

Breakdown Original!

Breakdown Original!

Gavin threw in one of his original creations and it is easily the highlight of this trade.  The design is 1989 Upper Deck and Kris Bryant is in a similar pose to Ken Griffey Jr.’s most famous RC.  Fantastic card, and there’s like a 1000% chance that if UD still had a baseball license today, they would have done something exactly like this.  Love it!

The back..

The back..

The design work carries over to the back, and in case you missed his excellent rookie season, there’s a nice write-up explaining why he was so hyped up in the first place.  I have quite a few personal sketch cards (including a glow-in-the-dark Rizzo from Gavin), but this is the just about the only custom print-type card like this to ever enter my collection, and I’m exceedingly happy to own it. 😀

Thanks for a great trade, Gavin.  And thanks to everyone for stopping by!

Until our next…

2 Comments

  1. Glad you like! Thanks again for the trade.

    Like

  2. I love the Quincy Carter, if only for the reminder that Georgia football has come a long way since the Jim Donnan/Quincy Carter years!

    Like

Leave a Reply

