2015 Panini Prizm Box Break

Gerrit Cole Jackie Robinson Prizm #'ed 40/42..

Gerrit Cole Jackie Robinson Prizm #’ed 40/42..

I got antsy and couldn’t wait until Black Friday to buy some cards, so I bought three boxes and a hit pack on Blowout.  It’s okay though.  The prices were plenty decent, and I didn’t end up seeing anything else in later waves or on Black Friday itself that were anymore compelling to me than the boxes I picked up.  This was probably my weakest box, and it might’ve been bolstered by the addition of a couple of Panini’s famous Black Friday packs, but it was still enjoyable enough that I didn’t really regret it.

Aside from that, the effect of bustin’ some boxes on my eternally precarious emotional state was absolutely wonderful.  For whatever reason, it’s just a very therapeutic thing for me to bust a box and then collate it.  The eventual scanning… not so much (though a better setup would help with that).

With that all said, time to jump right in.

Shinnies..

Puig, Puig Fireworks, Greinke, Yadi, Unit, & Spongybjork Shinnies..

That badass low #’ed Gerrit Cole at the top of the post is easily the hit of the box, but there’s lots more fun stuff to look through.  Here’s all the regular prizms from the box.  Lots of Dodger representation here.

It's Prizmness is CLEARLY denoted. #ThanksTopps..

It’s Prizmness is CLEARLY denoted. #ThanksTopps..

I’m considering keeping this Puig Fireworks Prizm as his entry in my 1-Star Binder/possible future Single Page Sensations collection, but I have good news.  I also pulled the base version of the card, which is definitely available for trade.

Base Fireworks..

Regular Fireworks..

See?  Miguel Cabrera is also well-represented in this box, but more on him in a moment.  First, more inserts!

Diamond Marshals are cool..

Diamond Marshals are cool..

Fresh Faces not so much..

Fresh Faces not so much..

2015 Panini Prizm Javier Baez Fresh Faces

But I pulled a keeper, so that’s cool..

They're called Passion, but clearly very little went into the design..

They’re called Passion, but clearly very little went into the design..

This particular horizontal insert is awesome, however..

This particular horizontal insert is spectacular, however..

This concludes the Captain Marvel Jr. portion of the post..

This concludes the Captain Marvel Jr. portion of the post..

And those are the inserts.  Yep.  Not much to say about them.  The better designs (Diamond Marshals, Fireworks, Field Pass) are really, really good at least.  Now for the bigger ticket items.  Things get better from here, but then jump off a cliff at the end.  Kinda like your sex life.

Dilson Herrera Red Power Prizm #'ed /125..

Dilson Herrera Red Power Prizm #’ed 7/125..

Nolan Arenado Camo Prizm #'ed 2/199..

Nolan Arenado Camo Prizm #’ed 2/199..

Miguel Cabrera Purple Flash #'ed 68/99..

Miguel Cabrera Purple Flash #’ed 68/99..

We close out the #’ed parallel portion of the box with that other Miguel Cabrera I mentioned earlier.  Probably the second best card in the box.  I also pulled my best, and only other keeper of note (there are also 3-5 base cards) in the form of that suh-weet Arenado camofractor Prizm.  So yeah, the #’ed parallels pretty much saved this thing for me.

Oh no..

Oh no… Also completely nonsensical!  Dude hasn’t been in the Phillies organization since like 2012.  WTF Panini???

Not much better..

Not much better, for me at least..

Yeah, the autos did their best to tank this box.  I watched a fair bit of this product be opened earlier in the year because I was considering entering some group breaks of it at the time, and the two autos that came out of my box are easily the worst I’ve seen come out of any box.  If nothing else, they are hard-signed and well designed, and neither player is terrible or anything, so they could at least be pretty tantalizing trade bait for the right collector.  They just aren’t any good for me.

That’s it for this one.  Everything but Arenado, Fireworks Prizm Puig, & Fresh Faces Baez are available, so make me on offer here or by email, which you can find here.  Thanks for stopping by!

Until our next…

2 Comments

  1. I’m not usually a Panini fan, but they do male some cool looking cards! I really like the fireworks ones.

    Like

  2. That Cole is pretty sweet. Maybe we can trade again soon…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

